Paper craft project no. 75: Merry Christmas hexagon wreath one layer card

2013-10-30 OLC Merry Christmas
To create this card, I used a 246-lb Strathmore acrylic paper (love the texture and thickness!) that I found in my stash as I was trying to organize my craft table. The acrylic pad was buried under a foot and a half pile of art books, magazines (Paper Crafts and CardMaker), a couple of sketch books, and my Gelli Arts printing plate. The paper is 9″x12″ so I cut it in half to create a card base that’s 4.5″ by 6″.

My idea was to create something that resembles a wreath, as inspired by the cards created by Nonni and Sandie, which are in turn based on the photo over at Inkspirational. I had a couple of wreath stamps, but they were all small, and I didn’t have a punch or die that would let me fashion a wreath out of them so I did the next best thing — use my holiday hexagons and distressed floral swirls stamps to create my version of a wreath ;-)

First, I stamped the different hexagon images in embossing ink, sprinkled green embossing powder, and heat embossed. Next, using a mask, I stamped the floral swirl around the hexagons in embossing ink again, sprinkled with clear embossing powder, and heat embossed.  Then I stamped a sentiment in the center of my hexagon wreath…and it DID. NOT. LOOK. GOOD.  At all. I tried stamping over it again (big mistake!) but I only made it look worse. Then I tried stamping over it a second time (what was I thinking?!?). I didn’t think I could make it any worse but I did! (Note to self: If the first stamping doesn’t look good, DO NOT stamp over it again in an attempt to salvage it!)

2013-10-30 OLC Merry Christmas - insideI didn’t want to have to start all over again so I did a lot of staring and scowling at my botched stamping job and then I remembered what Anita did when she had a similar problem as she was creating her card. So with my craft knife, I got rid of the evidence offending stamped sentiment by cutting a hexagon shape in the middle. Hey, now I can work with that! I stamped the hexagon that has the image of baby Jesus inside the card so it shows through the hexagon window when the card is closed. I also added a sentiment inside (might as well!). Anyone want to give this girl a high-five? ;-)

If you’ve been following my blog the last couple of weeks, you know about my current obsession: emboss resist. Can’t let this card go without me using the technique on it! So I sponged some distress inks (shabby shutters, old paper) on the floral swirls. Then I stamped the sentiment in the lower right corner of the card. I finished off the card by affixing green sequins using silver stickles.

This card fits a few challenges:

   9a8d7-atcas-codewordonelayer

I should mention that I created this card for the monthly challenge I’m hosting over at the STAMPlorations Challenge Blog. For November, we’re doing STAMPS & SEQUINS.  Nonni, a talented musician and card-maker, joins me as a member of my design team. (We’re looking for a few crafty, creative ladies to join us, so if you’re interested, our DT call is in this post.)

novemberchallenge

As always, thank you for stopping by and reading until the end of this post! Some days I tend to be chatty in my posts. Have a wonderful weekend ahead!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 75: Merry Christmas hexagon wreath one layer card”

  1. Beautiful card you created with the masking, embossing, and so many fun techniques. It is wonderful inside and outside.

  2. A very effective and CAS one layer card. I love the colours and the embossing. Wonderful work. Thanks for sharing with us at Inkspirational. Meighan DT

  3. A fabulous card, gorgeous embossed images in the hexagons and beautiful inking surrounding them!!

    Thanks so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challegne
    hugs
    Heather xx

  4. What a neat technique using the hexagons. I love the yellow lighting. Thanks for joining us this week at ATS&M.

  5. I love the hexagons. Great idea to turn it into a wreath. The sponging and embossing around the outside really sets off the wreath too. Thanks for playing at ATCAS. :)

  6. Beautiful card – you could also enter this into my CHNC challenge extra for November – I’d love to see it there too. x

  7. so pretty! lovin’ all the hexagons! Thanks for joining along with Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

  8. Very pretty! Love the stencilling! Thanks for joining in at Aud Sentiments this week.

    kathy b

  9. So pretty, Shery! I love all the little images inside those hexagons. Great way to design it with the window. Thanks so much for playing along with the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

  10. Hi Shery. What an inspirational and creative piece of ‘rescuing’. You have created a fabulous card with lots of depth in just one layer! Thanks for joining the fun at ATSM. Monika

  11. What a fabulous idea for a wreath! Your stamping and embossing look great. The resist embossing technique is such fun and one of my favourites too. Thank you for joining us at ATCAS.

  12. Hi there Shery! What an amazing card! Well done on the ‘save’!! Thanks so much for playing along at ATCAS xx

  13. Such an ingenious Christmas wreath – it’s fab! I have to admit that I really enjoyed reading your post! You would never know that you had such a hard time with the centre ;) I really like the way you’ve got the cut out to the inside! Great work. Thanks so much for playing along with ASM this week!

  14. Hahaha, definitely a high five for this one, Shery … what a fabulous rescue! Thanks so much for the shout out too … doesn’t cutting out the splodge feel good?! Glad one of my mess-ups helped!! Anita :)

  15. Hi Shery, this is such an original take on a wreath and thanks for the shout out! And I so love how you rescued your ‘design element!’-very creative idea. I often make ‘design elements’ and hate to re-start so I try to get creative! Love the distress look. Thanks for joining us at Inkspirational, Addicted to CAS and ATSM X

  16. Wow Shery, what an inspirational card! I like the colors -they have a retro feel I think- and the sponging and hexagons give this a very artsy feel. xx

