Paper craft project no. 72: Prim country Christmas snowy angel one layer card

2013-10-26 OLC Prim country Christmas snow angel
Here’s an A2 one layer card I created for CASology Week 67. The cue word is COUNTRY. The word gave me a lot of ideas, but mostly I associate the word with rustic and prim (primitive) living, art, images, home decor, and such.  My husband and I live out in the country surrounded by orange and olive groves, and dairy farms. It’s quiet and laid back. I love being away from the crowd. Out here, I can breathe and think clearly — away from all the noise that comes with city living.

Anyway, I have an old prim snowy angel stamp (probably made in the late 1990s) and I thought it was the perfect image for my prim country themed one layer card. I colored it with markers (mostly Distress markers and a couple of Memento markers) and stamped the sentiment. For the border, I found a running stitch stamp in my stash. It’s straight, but I stuck the stamp to my acrylic block a bit crooked to create the effect and stamped twice one each side.

I’m also linking this card to the following:

Thanks for stopping by and I hope your weekend’s going great!

~Shery

16 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 72: Prim country Christmas snowy angel one layer card”

  1. Such a beautiful Christmas card. Thanks for joining us at Aud Sentiments
    Hugs,
    Julie T

  2. This is lovely…Thank you for sharing with us at Aud Sentiments and good luck

    Caz xx

  3. This is so very sweet, love all the bright colors. Thank you for sharing with us at ATCAS!!

  4. Adorable flying-by Angel! Great OL card – Thanks for joining in with ATCAS!

  5. Just perfect, Shery. I love your angel!!! Thanks so much for playing along at ATCAS xx

  6. I really like the way you crooked the stitched border -great idea! xxx

  7. great CAS card love the image and doodling-thanks for joining us at Crafty Girls
    Carol GDT x

  8. Sheri! Yikes, this is so cute and totally folk art country! I adore this image and your stitched frame…and the fact that it is one-layer! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  9. brilliant project- thank you for entering the Crafty Girls Challenge – good luck x

  10. Yep, that’s country, all right! Love this sweet folksy angel! And I love your stitched frame, too – reminds me of a quilt, which is also perfect for the challenge! Thanks for joining us this week at CASology!

  11. This totally says country to me! Love that image! So glad you joined us at CASology this week!

  12. A gorgeous Christmas card. Thank you for joining us at Aud Sentiments challenge good luck Ginny ♥

  13. That card made me smile for two reasons: That whimsical angel is really funny and I remember those stamps for the “old days” back then when cardmaking was quite new to a lot of people. I love the frame you did around the image. It’s a cosy, warm lovely card!

  14. Adorable Shery! I love the border. This would be perfect for our challenge at Addicted to CAS-one layer! x

  15. Your country angel is just exactly right for CASology, Shery! I think your wonky placement of the stitched border stamp on your block is genius!! Darnell

