Paper craft project no. 69: Thankful

2013-10-19 OLC Thankful
Here’s an A2 one layer card I created that was inspired by Heather Telford’s card here. In her One Layer Wednesday challenge #162, she wanted leaves featured in our cards. I’m still on an embossing kick so I went ahead and created a one layer card using the technique.

Edited to add: This card fits Moxie Fab World’s Tuesday Trigger: Enthralled with Fall. Fall is my favorite season. How can you not be in love, not be enthralled, with the fall leaves in their amazing orange and red hues? Here’s the trigger photo:

To create this card, I first masked off the upper part of my card. I stamped the leaf (JustRite) several times in tuxedo black (Memento) on the lower part then heat set it. Next, I stamped the same leaf in Versamark watermark ink, sprinkled Zing! clear embossing powder, and heat embossed. Using a sponge,  I blended 3 different Distress inks — scattered straw, spiced marmalade, and barn door. The embossed areas resisted the inks and created a transparent look since they overlapped some parts of the leaves that were stamped in black ink. I think I’m in love with this technique! ;-) I took off the mask and stamped my sentiment (from my Thankful, Grateful stamp set) a few times.

I was going through the different blog challenges and found that “transparent” is this week’s code word over at Addicted to CAS Challenge #24. Don’t you love serendipity? I think I’ll enter it there! I’m also entering this card to Crafts 4 Eternity Challenge #146: Autumn Leaves and Keep it Simple Challenge #25: Be Inspired.

Welps, I gotta get back to my craft table. I’m trying to make up for lost time after having been sick for close to 3 weeks. I’m doing more embossing because I finally managed to get my Distress embossing powders to stick to my cardstock! I sort of gave up a couple of months ago because they weren’t working at all for me no matter what I did. Then earlier tonight, I decided to try again using my Versamark watermark ink pad and it worked! Now those jars of embossing powder won’t get relegated to my never-to-be-used-supplies bin.

Thanks for stopping by! I’m always happy and tickled silly whenever a fellow crafter leaves a comment — it’s much appreciated and do include a link to your blog so I can ogle at your creations!

~Shery

10 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 69: Thankful”

  1. Hey Shery! Thanks for linking this up to this week’s Tuesday Trigger in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! :)

  2. Your card is beautiful, fresh and different. I love how you placed the sentiment, Shery.

  3. creative take on our codeword! Beauuuutiful card!
    Thanks for playing along at ATCAS and kis.
    Christine

  4. Beautifully done, Sheryl. I just love the leaves embossed like this! TFS

  5. This was definitely worth getting back to the embossing powder, Shery, this is lovely … fantastic colours! Anita :)

  6. LOVE your take on our code word. Your colours are rich and inspiring. Thanks so much for playing along at ATCAS xx

  7. Fabulous card love the technique. Thanks for joining us at C4E this week.
    Love
    Amanda

  8. That is stunning, Shery! I want to CASE your idea of combining black images with embossed images right away when I’m home from my travels. Great colors too. xxx

  9. I love this idea, I must give it a go and such a cool take on our code word. Thanks for joining us at ATCAS

