Paper craft project no. 63: Be merry

2013-09-30 Be Merry
Here’s a one layer card I made for Nonni’s Card Challenges, a new blog challenge hosted by a super-talented girl, Nonni. A few weeks ago, in one of my blog-hopping adventures, I came across her blog. I was impressed with her creations and loved her CAS style cards, so naturally her blog became one of the blogs I regularly visit :-)

Anyway, the first challenge that starts today, October 1, is  called “Let’s Get Inky – Stamp a Happy Christmas“. The challenge is until December 24. The challenge is pretty simple: create a Christmas card where stamping takes center stage. Here’s your chance to use fun techniques (e.g., masking, embossing, second-generation stamping) and really play with your stamps. Stamp with watercolors, paints, or gelatos. Do some tone on tone stamping. Use your non-Christmas stamps to create a  Christmas card. Get inky and creative! Any style is welcome — CAS, vintage, shabby chic, fun & cute…whatever style you’re comfortable with. You can embellish your cards, but make sure you don’t completely cover up your stamping!

A little bit about my card: I’ve been wanting to try the emboss resist technique for so long but haven’t had the chance. I finally was able to do so in this card. I love it! (Note to self: stock up on clear embossing powder.) To create my card, I masked off the center then stamped the distressed floral swirl stamp around it in embossing ink. I used clear embossing powder and then heat embossed. Next, I sponged distress inks (barn door and vintage photo). The embossed areas resisted the ink colors, but I like that there is a hint of (vintage photo) color over the embossing. It gives the card a vintage frame look. I stamped the Christmas tree and lastly, the sentiment. They’re from the Be Merry stamp set.

I’m also linking this card to the following challenges:

Stamps: distressed floral swirls, Christmas tree, sentiment (STAMPlorations)
Ink: emerald green, jet black (Ranger Archival inks); barn door, vintage photo (Tim Holtz Distress inks)
Other: clear embossing powder (Zing!); embossing ink (Ranger); heat gun (Ranger)

Thanks for taking a look! Have a wonderfully creative Tuesday!

~Shery

10 Responses to “Paper craft project no. 63: Be merry”

  1. Fabulous! The floral swirl is a beauty and I love those wonderful trees.

  2. So pretty! Love the colors! Thank you for joining Christmas Card Challenges! Karen N, CCC-DT

  3. this is lovely Shery! thank you for joining us at Challenges4Everybody this time! Hope to see you again! Good Luck!!
    – Amelia – Admin

  4. Beautiful card!
    Thans for joining us at Chritmas Card Challenges this week!
    Monica – CCC DT

  5. Hi Shery,
    Back from hols now so should be getting back to commenting. I adore these tress ans again those fab sentiments x

  6. Beautiful card, the background is amazing!

  7. As you already know, I love those swirls. :) They are so beautiful! The tree stamp is awesome too and the vintage look of this card is really lovely. xxx

  8. Your emboss resist is gorgeous…I love the stunning ink colors!

    • Fabulous card Shery. Great colours and emboss resist.

      Thank you for joining us over at the Scribble and Scrap Challenge. Good luck.
      xx

Trackbacks

