Paper craft project no. 59: Autumn blessings

2013-09-19 CAS Autumn Blessings

Whenever I clean and re-organize my supplies (I have been at it since Sunday — and I’m not done yet), I get both frustrated and excited. Frustrated because once I’m done, I have a hard time finding all the stuff; I usually end up putting them in a different container or spot. Excited because as I go through my stash, I’m bound to come across things I’d forgotten I have — like the packs of linen textured cardstock. And the 5-inch pile of paint chips I’d collected from my trips to the paint section at Wal-mart, The Home Depot, and Lowe’s. It’s like Christmas. So what’s a girl gotta do but use ’em? And use ’em I did.

For this A2 card, I picked out a few paint chips in autumn colors and die-cut some leaves out of them. I also used my score board and bone folder to emboss the bottom part of my dark panel before adhering it to the card base. I then adhered the die-cut leaves to the upper part. I stamped my sentiment on white cardstock, trimmed it, and adhered it to designer paper. Quick and simple autumn-themed card.

I based the layout of my card on the sketch at CAS(E) this Sketch #46. I’m also linking this card to An Inky Situation Linky Party #9: Fall Leaves; Creative Knockouts #3: Texturize It; Aud Sentiments Challenge Blog #89: Autumn (with a sentiment); Milk Coffee Fabulous Fall Colors Challenge; Sarah Hurley Challenge #84: Autumn Glow; Fab’n’Funky Challenge #185: Leaves; Inklings & Yarns Inky Linky #30; The Perfect Sentiment Challenge #92: Find Me Some Fall; and Crafty Sentiments Designs Challenge: Fall/Autumn Colors.

 

Stamps: sentiment (STAMPlorations)
Ink: raspberry jam mid-tone (Hero Arts Shadow Ink)
Other: textured cardstock (The Paper Company); designer paper (Prima Marketing Ink.); leaf die (Sizzix Sizzlit); die cut machine (Sizzix Tag-a-long); paint chips; score board (Martha Stewart Crafts); bone folder; glue dots

Thanks so much for visiting. Please feel free to leave a comment — and if you have a blog, make sure to include your link. I would love to visit and see your creations!

~Shery

PS: Will you join me in a holiday papercrafting challenge? It ends this Sunday and I would love to see what you create! Details are here!

17 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 59: Autumn blessings”

  1. Gorgeous. Thanks for joining the Autumn Glow challenge with Sarah Hurley. Jx

  2. What a great idea to use paint chips! Great take on the sketch, too!

  3. Very elegant, the textured card is so very smart.

    Thank you for joining us a the Sarah Hurley Challenge.
    Claire

  4. Beautiful card. Thank you for sharing with us at Creative Knockouts this week

    Hugs Helen

  5. Very clever to use paint chips to cut out leafs. Adorable card. Thanks for playing along with us in the CAS(E) this sketch! challenge and hope to see you again.

  6. Lovely card, thanks for joining us over at Sarah Hurley this month.
    C xx

  7. LOVE your paint chip leaves – so creative!

  8. Great card and use of paint chips. I like this look and thanks for joining us at Aud Sentiments for our challenge.

  9. Beautiful cas card. Thanks so much for playing along with us at Fab’n’Funky this week. hugs, Pat K xx

  10. Love the leaves and love your card! Thank you for liking it to CTS! Have an awesome day.

  11. What a great card! I love the colors and your use of paint chips. Very creative? Bt the way, I wonder if you saw ATSM post from yesterday? ;)

  12. fab CAS card Shery – thanks for joining us at Crafty sentiments this week and good luck x

  13. Very pretty! I love how you diecut the leaves from paint chips!
    Thanks so much for playing along with CAS(E) this Sketch!

  14. gorgeous, love the design
    thanks for playing with us at crafty sentiments
    hugs
    céline

  15. This is fantastic! Great way to use that sketch and love the embossing! Thank you for Linking Up at An Inky Situation. Your project is featured on our Facebook Page today and linked to your blog!
    An Inky Situation Page on Facebook
    :) Janis
    Shop Stampin’ Up! with me

  16. Beautiful. Great take on the sketch, love the colours.
    Thank you for joining us at Fab’n’Funky

    Huggsss, Angelique
    EngelDesignsScrap

  17. Shery, this is so creative-I love the funky use of the paint chips. And I do like these sentiments-I saw them in your ETSY store and thought they looked fun, they lok great inked up. Have a good day x

