Paper craft project no. 57: Queen for a day

2013-09-17 CAS Queen for a day

All day today I’ve been itching to get to my craft table and make a birthday card. However, I needed to finish cleaning up our room and put away the things I wasn’t able to put away last Sunday when I started that cleaning and re-organizing chore. I’ve been wanting to create a card that I can enter to the Fusion Card Challenge #17. I combined the inspiration photo and the sketch, although I didn’t completely follow the sketch. I had the card already made in my head, as I wanted to use a particular Alice in Wonderland clear stamp I have and for some odd reason, the phrase “Queen for a day” was stuck in my head that I knew I had to use that in the card. So after I had put away the last of the clutter in our room, I got a chance to sit down at my craft table. Halfway through, I knew exactly why this card was just begging for me to create — today’s the birthday of one of the nicest, kindest, and craft-savvy ladies I’ve met online: Gina. So Gina, this is for you, and it may be late in the day, but it’s still your birthday — and you are Queen for today! :-)

To create this card, I embossed the card base with the quatrefoil embossing folder then lightly sponged the surface with distress ink. Next, I die-cut white cardstock using the ATC die, stamped the Alice image on it, and masked the image before stamping the newspaper background. I colored Alice with my distress markers then blended butter bar, soft apricot, and vintage photo inks all around. Since I didn’t have a stamp that spells out “Queen for a day”, I turned to Adobe Photoshop CS. I found a blank vintage banner and typed the text on that, making sure the text followed the path of the banner. I printed it on cardstock, fussy cut it, and then colored it with vintage photo distress ink and marker. I adhered the ATC and banner onto the card base using glue dots. I punched out the curly label, stamped the sentiment, distressed it in the same ink colors I used for the ATC, and then mounted it onto the card using foam dots to give the card dimension.

I’m linking this card to these challenges as well: Through the Craft Room Door Challenge: Anything Goes; Created with Love Challenges: Anything Goes; Make It Monday #158; Tammy’s Scrapin Corner Challenge #80; Challenges 4 Everybody #29: Anything Goes; Scribble & Scrap Challenge #1: Always Anything Goes; A Creative Romance Challenge: Dies or Punches; and The Corrosive Challenge #183: Maiden, Mother, Crone.

Stamps: sentiment (Fiskars); Alice in Wonderland (STAMPlorations); newspaper background (Hero Arts)
Inks: jet black (Ranger Archival ink); vintage photo (Tim Holtz Distress ink); butter bar mid-tone, soft apricot (Hero Arts Shadow Ink)
Other: picket fence, tattered rose, fired brick, faded jeans, mustard seed, worn lipstick, broken china, barn door (Tim Holtz Distress markers); artist trading card die (Sizzix); quatrefoil embossing folder (The Paper Studio); curly label punch (EK Success)

Thanks for stopping by! I’m going to make me some more cards! Enjoy the rest of your day/evening wherever you are in the world :-)

~Shery

PS: Please join me in a holiday papercrafting challenge. Details are here! :-)

18 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 57: Queen for a day”

  1. Fabulous !!
    Thanks for joining us at the Corrosive Challenge!!

  2. Thanks for joining us at the Corrosive Challenge for our “Maiden, Mother, Crone” challenge. Good luck and please join us again soon.

  3. Oh this card is wonderful very inspiring. Thanks for joining in the fun at Created with Love Challenges.
    Linda K. DT

  4. Such a delightful card you have made! Thank you for sharing it at TTCRD!
    Hugz,
    Roxann

  5. Cute card Shery. I love the inking and embossing. Love your image and sentiments.

    Thank you for sharing your wonderful creation with us at Tammy’s Scrapin Corner. I am your newest follower and would love to have you follow my blog also.

    I would like for you to join me for a chance to win FREE candy on my blog. Have a wonderful week! Hope to see you again next week. Hugs, Gloria DT

    http://purpleglocreations.blogspot.com

  6. Thank you for entering your lovely card for Tammy Scraping Corner 80 ‘anything goes’ challenge, Hazel, Guest Designer x

  7. This is a wonderful creation with great details and its perfect for our ‘ANYTHING GOES’ challenge. Thanks for sharing your talent with us. Good luck.
    Hugs
    Desíre
    {Tammy’s Scrapin Corner Senior DT Member}
    {Doing Life – my personal blog}

  8. Love the embossed layer and the queen image .Thanks for sharing on make it Monday

  9. I love it! What a fun mix of image/sentiment!
    Thanks for joining us at Fusion!

  10. Wow this is a beautiful card, thank you for sharing over at Challenges 4 Everybody. Good luck, hugs Kerry xx

  11. Hi Shery,

    This is perfect-I love the sentiment and the image is just fabulous and coloured like a princess! x

  12. This is gorgeous Shery! The embossing is beautiful and love the light use of the distress inks over it leaving just the hint of colour to bring out the embossing. Gorgeous image too. Great card.

    Thank you for joining us over at the Scribble & Scrap Challenge. Good luck.
    xx

  13. Lovely card. I love the image. Thanks for joining our Anything Goes Challenge at Created With Love Challenges
    ~~Chris

