Paper craft project no. 56: Sending love your way

2013-09-14 CAS Sending love your way

Here’s an A2 card I made last night for CAS(E) this Sketch #45. I must have gone through at least a dozen stamps in my stash and tried them all on scratch (unlined index cards) before I settled on this particular flower stamp. For some reason, the indoor photos I’ve been taking have been coming out not so great even after post processing them, so I had to wait this morning to take a photo of this card outside. (I’m beginning to love using our old bench table for the cards.) This one I took when I managed to get a break this morning. For months, the hubby and I have been wanting to get the hutch out of our bedroom and in storage and it’s been put off many times for one reason or another. Around 6 a.m. today, we finally set out to do what’s been needing to get done. Anyway, a couple of hours into it, I had a bit of time to snap a photo of my card.

To create this card, I used painter’s tape to mask a 9″x12″ cold-pressed 140-lb watercolor paper so I’d have a stamping area that’s 4″x5.25″. I used Memento markers and applied them onto different areas of my stamp. I spritzed a little water then stamped on one corner. Repeated it to stamp on the other corner. Then I took my Faber-Castell water brush, loaded it with water and then painted on the stamped image to drag the colors and give the image that watercolor wash look. After it’s dried, I removed the painter’s tape, cut the watercolor paper, and then mounted it on my card base. Finally, I stamped the sentiment.

I’m also linking this up to a few other challenges:

Chocolate, Coffee & Cards Challenges #48: Anything Goes
Inspire Me Fridays #120: Anything Goes
Keep It Simple Challenge #22: Water
Sister Act Card Challenge #24: Anything Goes
4 Krafty Girlz Challenge #1: Anything Goes
Addicted to Stamps and More Challenge #62: Make Your Mark
Happy Campers Challenge #21: Use a stamp
Paper Crafting Journey Challenge: Flowers

Stamps: sentiment (Hero Arts); flowers (Inkadinkado)
Inks: jet black (Ranger Archival ink)
Other:  dandelion, tangelo, lady bug, danube blue, rose bud, grape jelly (Memento markers); water brush; watercolor paper (Canson)

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a wonderful week ahead. I’m off to clean and organize some more!

~Shery

PS: Interested in a holiday papercrafting challenge? Click here! :-)

25 Comments to “Paper craft project no. 56: Sending love your way”

  1. Hi Shery, congrats, just saw this was a favorite on KIS-well done, I did love this card x

  2. Wonderful work and great colours. Thank for playing with us at Paper Crafting Journey!
    Iwona

  3. Love the bright happy colors and the distressed feeling!

  4. this is gorgeous Sheryl!
    I’ll be featuring you this week @ Inspire Me Fridays, thank you so much for linking up!!

  5. Oh, this is gorgeous! So striking!
    Thanks so much for playing along with CAS(E) this Sketch!

  6. Striking card thanks for joining us at 4 krafty girlz challenge blog. .. Anita DT

  7. great project/card, thank you for joining the 4 Krafty Girlz Challenge good luck – hope to see you again in the next one xxx

  8. I love this technique and your card is really fab! I love the stamp and colors. Thanks for joining us again at ATSM, Shery! xxx

  9. Wow this is great! I love the technique you used and all of your bright colors are beautiful. Thanks for playing at ATSM. :)

  10. You’ve made a very pretty card indeed, great water colour effects! Good luck with the challenges!

  11. Beautiful card, thanks for joining us at CC&CC anything goes card challenge, good luck cheers Sue

  12. Hi Shery, this really is stunning! This technique sounDs a lot of fun and produces a beautiful card bursting with colour. Thanks for joining us at ATSM

    • Hi, Sandie! Yes, I love this technique — I can’t seem to stop using my Memento markers to create cards with a watercolor look — that, and I finally have a good excuse I can use whenever I tell my husband I need more watercolor paper ;-)

  13. Beautiful card, love the image and lovely colors. Thank you for joining us this fortnight at 4 Krafty Girlz. Abbie xx

  14. So pretty and colorful! Thanks for linking up at Sister Act this week!
    Hugs!
    Trisha-DT Member

