CAS Card No. 51: Happy birthday

2013-09-08 CAS Happy birthday
Here’s an A2 card that I made for Freshly Made Sketches #102 and Seize the Birthday Anything Goes Birthday. I really like the raspberry jam mid-tone shadow ink by Hero Arts so I set out to create this card with the intention of using that ink color. I found cardstock that was very close to the ink color. I used second generation stamping to create the background for the card. Then I layered the rest of the elements.

Stamps: sentiment (Fiskars); flower (Stampin’ Up)
Ink: raspberry jam (Hero Arts Shadow Ink)
Other: cardstock (DCWV); paper (Basic Grey); ornate label and oval label dies (Sizzix); Cuttlebug; jute twine; foam dots

 

By the way, I am hosting a holiday papercrafting challenge on my other blog. I’m giving away a prize package of 7 holiday clear stamp sets to the winner. The challenge runs until September 22. Any kind of papercrafting project is welcome — cards, tags, scrapbook/album covers, home decor. I would love for you to be there!

5 Comments to “CAS Card No. 51: Happy birthday”

  1. This is just beautiful! I love that flower background. Thanks for playing along with us at Seize The Birthday :)

  2. Fabulous colours and I love that you created the background on textured paper. Thanks so much for joining us at Seize the Birthday!

    • Thank you, Brenda. The paper is from The All About Girls cardstock stack from DCWV — which I’ve had for years and never really got to use up. It’s my niece’s birthday this week so this card is off to the post office today! Thank you again for peeking at my card and taking the time to leave a comment :-)

  3. Gorgeous color! I love it and how you created the background! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

    • Thank you, Linda. My first time to do a card for Freshly Made Sketches and I enjoyed it. I’m a CAS girl who loves to do distressing on cards so I had to make sure this card was suited for FMS ;-)

