One Layer Card No. 48: Kindness

2013-09-01 One Layer Card Kindness
All weekend I’ve been playing with my Distress markers. Here’s a one layer card where I used the markers to create a watercolor effect. I took one of my acrylic blocks, swiped 7 different Distress markers colors to create a sort of ombre effect, spritzed a little water on the block, and then stamped the block on my card, moving the block from right to left to drag the colors. (I know, it should be left to right, but I’m left-handed! ;-)) Love the effect! Next, I stamped the background script, followed by the silhouette flower rubber stamp (which I stamped a second time without re-inking to create a shadow), and then finally stamped the sentiment.

I’m entering this card to the following challenges: Tuesday Trigger: Honoring Ombre at the Moxie Fab World blog; One Layer Wednesday Challenge #155: Silhouettes; Less is More Week #135 (use a rubber stamp and optional watercolors); and Simon Says Wednesday Challenge Blog – Anything Goes.

Stamps: sentiment (Stampendous); background script (OTC); flower silhouette (Stampin’ Up)
Inks: coffee (Ranger Archival ink); forest moss, peeled paint, crushed olive, shabby shutters, mustard seed, spiced marmalade, wild honey (Tim Holtz Distress markers); tuxedo black (Tsukineko)

And before I end today’s post, I’m inviting all papercrafters. On September 6, I’ve got a holiday papercrafting challenge starting at the STAMPlorations™ blog. One crafter is going to win all 7 holiday stamp sets (60+ individual clear stamps) that I designed for the STAMPlorations™ line. I’ll have all the details there on September 6 at 5pm PST so please visit and bookmark the site or follow/subscribe by email.

26 Comments to “One Layer Card No. 48: Kindness”

  1. Hey Shery! Thanks for linking this up to this week’s Tuesday Trigger in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! :)

  2. Wow Shery! I am so loving the colors of your background on your card, and the text is lovely. You did an amazing job! I also want to talk you for leaving me a sweet note on my blog :)

  3. Such a fabulous card ,great image and watercolouring too Shery :) Viv xx

  4. shery this is simply stunning.. love it

    Thanks for joining us this week
    Jen x
    “Less Is More”

  5. This card popped out at me on the Less is More challenge site … gorgeous! thanks for sharing how you did it. So much detail for a one layer card!!

  6. FABULOUS – love the colours

    Kathyk

  7. Lovely card! Great colours & background text

  8. Simply gorgeous! What a great play of colors!
    Rosi x

  9. I really like your card Shery. I too have tried this technique but I seem to end up with to much water.

    • Hi, Barbara. I practiced this one like half a dozen times on cold pressed watercolor paper before I got it just right. For me, it was holding the stamp block 12 inches away and then spritzing twice — right above and right below the block. Thanks for taking the time to comment, and so glad you like my card! :-)

  10. I love the water washed background on your card

  11. lol, we had a similar idea and I seem to be following you! (from LIM to OLW) love your card, the colours are gorgeous and always love a bit of script

  12. What a lovely effect, Shery! I love everything about your card! Thanks so much for sharing it with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

    • Thanks so much, Lin, for taking the time to look at my card and commenting! You make beautiful cards! (Was just admiring your autumn card with the teddy bear.)

  13. so beautiful….love the script behind…
    thanks so much for playing along with the OLW this week!

    • Thanks, Karen! Hoping to play more. All the challenge blogs I’m discovering are all very inspiring and helping me build my stash of cards (not to mention use up the supplies I’ve hoarded for years!)

  14. Popped over from LiM as your lovely card caught my eye. This is a lovely card in unusual colours…it works well, inspiring x

  15. Such a lovely colour combo, Shery, the silhouette is perfect against it! Thanks for popping by my blog and leaving me some sweet words … much appreciated! Anita :)

