One Layer Card No. 45: Celebrate the season

2013-08-29 One Layer Card Celebrate the season
Here’s an A2 one layer card that uses masking and blending techniques. To make this card, I first cut scrap paper to use as a mask for the landscape. Using the top part of the mask, I placed it over the card base and started sponging distress inks on the bottom area. I moved the mask at an angle and then started shading the next slope. I did the same thing for the third slope. For the trees, I used a pine tree border stamp. First, I took the bottom part of my mask, covered the first slope and then stamped the trees so that the stamped image followed the slope. I did the same thing to the two other slopes. Next, I lightly sponged distress ink (broken china) all over the white area. To create the clouds, I cut another piece of scrap paper in the shape of a cloud. Then using just the top part of the mask, I sponged broken china again, moving the mask all over the area to create the illusion of overlapping clouds. Lastly, I stamped the sentiment and colored the poinsettia with markers.

Stamps: sentiment (STAMPlorations); tree border (Rubber Stampede)
Inks: tuxedo black (Tsukineko); crushed olive, peeled paint, pine needles, broken china (Tim Holtz Distress inks)
Other: lady bug, new sprout, bamboo leaves (Memento brush markers)

I’m entering this card to the Keep It Simple!  #21: Christmas in August challenge and to the Holiday Card Challenge in the Moxie Fab World.

2 Comments to “One Layer Card No. 45: Celebrate the season”

  1. Hey Shery! Thanks for linking this up to the Holiday Card Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! :)

  2. Reblogged this on STAMPlorations™ blog and commented:

    One layer card using the sentiment in the “Merry” clear stamp set.

