Holiday Home Decor No. 42: Framed Christmas collage

2013-08-23 Holiday Home Decor Distressed Christmas Framed Collage A
I was looking for Christmas-related paper crafting supplies last night because I wanted to create a project for the Holiday Home Decor Challenge in the Moxie Fab World. I came across some beveled mat boards I bought a couple of years ago and had forgotten. They’re 8″ by 10″ frames that fit 5″ by 7″ photos. I liked the texture of the boards and thought they’d be great for a Christmas project. I couldn’t be any more pleased with the finished product!

For the base, I used one of the collage sheets from Pink Paislee’s City Sidewalks collection. The papers in this collection have vintage designs and I picked the one with the red music sheet design. Next, I sponged barn door Distress ink all over the sheet.  Using a torn paper towel as a mask, I sponged mustard seed, peeled paint, and broken china Distress inks over the page. Then I sponged vintage photo Distress ink on all the edges.  Next, I stamped a couple of the mixed media background stamps from my STAMPlorations stamp set around the page in coffee and jet black inks (Ranger Archival inks). I spritzed a little water on the page to give it an even more distressed look. I dried the page with my Heat-It craft tool then I gave the page a light coat of clear rock candy Distress crackle paint and set the page aside to give it time to dry.

While I waited for the crackle paint to dry, I worked on the frame. I stamped an image of holly leaves in pine needles Distress ink  repeatedly until the entire frame was covered. Next, I sponged shabby shutters and peeled paint Distress ink on the frame. To make the edges darker, I sponged pine needles and finally vintage photo Distress inks. I applied Xmas Red Stickles on the berries and then set aside the frame to give the stickles time to dry.

I went back to the distressed collage sheet and finished drying the Distress crackle paint with my Heat-It craft tool. Then I sprayed a little bit of the bronze Perfect Pearls Mists on the page and set it aside to dry. Next, I took a piece of white card stock and stamped the sentiment and holly leaves in embossing ink. I used Stampendous embossing powders — carnelian pearl for “Merry Christmas” and gold tinsel for the holly leaves. I lightly sponged mustard seed Distress ink on the sentiment before cutting around it and sponging the edges with vintage photo Distress ink. I also sponged some vintage photo Distress ink on the holly leaves.

For the banner at the bottom, I used the paper garlands from Pink Paislee’s City Sidewalks collection and jute twine. Again, I sponged some vintage photo Distress ink on the garlands before putting them together. I adhered the banner with glue dots. When I had the frame and collage sheet assembled, I adhered the embossed sentiment and holly leaves using foam dots. I also added a bird from Tim Coffey Christmas Bird Layered Accents by K&company. Then I finished it off by sticking some Candi paper brads.

And that’s it — my paper crafted holiday home decor. I could frame and hang it, but it’ll also work unframed — leaning against something or on an easel. Here are a couple more photos:

2013-08-23 Holiday Home Decor Distressed Christmas Framed Collage B

2013-08-23 Holiday Home Decor Distressed Christmas Framed Collage C
Thanks so much for reading! I hope my framed distressed Christmas collage inspires you to create your own paper crafting holiday home decor! :-)

3 Comments to “Holiday Home Decor No. 42: Framed Christmas collage”

  1. cute! love the holly in gold!

  2. Hey Shery! Thanks for linking this up to the Holiday Home Decor Challenge in the Moxie Fab World! I’m so glad you joined in on all the fun! :)

