CAS Card No. 35: Shabby chic vintage thank you

2013-08-16 One Layer Card Thanks so much
So I had put away most of my ink pads and stamps (my craft table really needed to be cleared — even for just a day!). As I was going through the stash in my art cart, I came across a pack of Vintage Vogue chipboard stickers by Pink Paislee. I’d had it for over a year but haven’t used it. Then I saw another unused pack of Dear Lizzy 5th and Frolic paper pad by American Crafts. Flipped through the pad and saw that the papers had nice shabby chic and sort of vintage designs. I also found a pack of Hope Chest journaling cards by Pink Paislee so I used one to stamp the sentiment on and fussy cut it.  And this is what I ended up creating. Again, not a one layer card but it does have a clean and simple design.

Stamp: sentiment (Inkadinkado)
Inks: jet black (Ranger Archival ink); vintage photo (Tim Holtz Distress ink)
Other: papers (Dear Lizzy 5th and Frolic by American Crafts); banner, silhouette and embellishments (Pink Paislee); kraft notecard; border punch (EK Success)

Here are the steps for creating this CAS card:

1. Trim background paper to size (slightly smaller than 4″ by 5.5″) and adhere to card base.

2. Cut rectangles from two different papers — one about 2.25″ wide and the other about 1.5″ wide. Ink the edges of the wider rectangle with distress ink. Set aside.

3. Punch scallop border on one side of the thinner rectangle. Ink the edges. Adhere to the wider rectangle then adhere to card front.

4. Stamp sentiment on journaling card, fussy cut then adhere to middle of the card.

5. Affix silhouette of a woman and chipboard dots.

Oh yeah, and this card is my interpretation of CAS(E) This Sketch Challenge #41. Here’s the sketch:

2 Comments to “CAS Card No. 35: Shabby chic vintage thank you”

  1. What a lovely arrangement of elements! I love the look of vintage yet modern (with the triangles) – it works beautifully! Thank you for joining us at CAS(E) this Sketch!

