One Layer Card No. 31: Friends

2013-08-10 One Layer Card Friend

A2 card using masking, sponging, and blending techniques.

Stamps: this is a no-stamping card
Inks: mustard seed, dried marigold, wild honey (Tim Holtz Distress inks)
Other: rub-ons (7Gypsies, unknown brand)

Here are the steps for creating this one layer card:

1. Mask the left and right areas of card base.

2. Using an ink blending tool, sponge and blend distress inks, starting with the lightest color (mustard seed) to the darkest (wild honey).

3. Apply flower rub-on in the center. Burnish.

4. Apply text rub-on over the area. Burnish.

5. Remove mask and apply “friends” rub-on.

Thought I’d give myself a mini-challenge and create a card without using any stamps. I’m running a rub-on giveaway over at my AllAboutScrapping page on Facebook so I wanted to create a few one layer cards with rub-ons. Here’s the first card. And, I think it’ll work for the CAS(E) This Sketch Challenge #40. Here’s the sketch:

Related articles

