One Layer Card No. 29: I’m sorry

2013-08-06 One Layer Card Im Sorry

A2 card using direct stamping and masking techniques.

Stamps: flowers and frame (Inkadinkado); sentiment (Stampabilities)
Ink: jet black (Ranger Archival ink)
Other: black marker

Here are the steps for creating this one layer card:

1. Stamp frame a third of the way up from the bottom of card base.

2. Stamp sentiment.

3. Make a mask for the frame then stamp flower.

4. Draw running stitch on top and bottom of card with a black marker.

Of all the cards I’ve made for my self-imposed challenge, this one was the most challenging to make. Last night it took me a couple of pages on my sketch book to settle on the elements and design (and about an hour going through my stash of stamps). I thought I’d give my color inks a little break and make a card with just one or two colors. In one of my sketches, I had colored the flowers with my Spectrum Noir markers. It looked good, but I ditched the markers and decided I’d go for just black and white on the flowers for visual impact. (Besides, I was afraid once I started coloring, I’d end up with a card with more colors than I originally envisioned.) Nonetheless, I tried to sneak in another color. The first card I made I distressed the white area around the flower and sentiment a little with tattered rose distress ink. I wasn’t too happy with it so I decided to make a second one — but this time just all black ink. My husband walked in just as I was finishing the second version and said, “Wow, I think that’s my favorite of all the cards you’ve made.” I guess simplicity wins. I like how elegant it looks as well :-)

Anyway, I’m entering this in the CAS(E) This Sketch Challenge #39. Here’s the sketch:

Related articles

5 Comments to “One Layer Card No. 29: I’m sorry”

  1. oh wow, it was worth the time and trouble, it’s fantastic!

  2. like how you made this into a single layer card – very nicely done

  3. Such a fabulous card Shery! Love the bold B&W colour scheme.
    Thanks so much for sharing with us at CAS(E) this Sketch this week!

  4. very nice .. come visit my blog somethingcraftybydottie.blogspot.com

