One Layer Card No. 21: Thanks so much

2013-07-29 One Layer Card Thanks so much

A2 card using masking, layer stamping, and repetition techniques.

Stamps: flowers (Stampin’ Up); sentiment (Inkadinkado)
Inks: broken china, dusty concord, barn door (Tim Holtz Distress inks); tuxedo black (Tsukineko Memento Dye Ink)
Other: alcohol ink pens GB5 and CT4 (Spectrum Noir); Stamp-a-ma-jig (Inkadinkado)

Yesterday was “make cards for the shop” day. I’m bringing the cards to the gift shop in town later this week to sell. The shop owner lets me have a small space for a 5-shelf display and a peg board for selling my handmade items — mixed media artworks, tile coasters, bottle cap pendants and key chains, handmade tags, art magnets, embellishments, and greeting cards. After making those cards, I ended my card-making day with this one layer card. I’m loving the Stampin’ Up two-step flower stamps so naturally, I wanted to use them again — that, and I really, really, really like the stamp-a-ma-jig! Unlike my previous one layer cards, I didn’t start out with a plan for this one. I just started stamping and before I knew it, I had something that eerily looked like an interpretation of CAS(E) This Sketch Challenge #38. In any case, I’m quite happy with this card :-)

Steps for creating this one layer card:

1. Stamp sentiment in black ink.

2. Create a mask for the sentiment and cover it.

3. Randomly stamp flower outline in black ink.

4. Stamp solid flower over the outlines using different distress inks.

5. Remove mask over the sentiment.

6. Color sentiment with alcohol ink pens.

Here’s the sketch again:

69aea-cts_sketch_38

Related articles
6 Comments to “One Layer Card No. 21: Thanks so much”

  1. Thank you, Kim, Chrissy, and Donna! I appreciate your feedback :-)

  2. A creative take on the sketch!

  3. Love how you did the colors on the flowers! So cheerful.

  4. I LOVE it! What a wonderful cascade of flowers to say thank you! Thank YOU for playing along at CAS(E) this Sketch!

  5. Pretty! love the bold colours!

