One Layer Card No. 13: Thankful

2013-07-21 One Layer Card Thankful

A2 card using layer stamping, distressing, edge sponging, blending, and masking techniques.

Stamps: inchie flowers (Inkadinkado), sentiment (Fiskars), text background (Hero Arts)
Inks: tattered rose (Tim Holtz Distress ink); wicked black (ColorBox Cat’s Eye Archival dye ink); coffee (Ranger Archival ink)

A little note about this one layer card: This card was inspired by Heather Telford’s three square layout found here. Her card had square cut-outs. I used the inchie square stamps instead in keeping with the type of cards I’m making for this blog :-)

Steps for creating this one layer card:

1. Cover about 2/3 of left side of the card front with Post-It note.

2. With a foam applicator, sponge and blend tattered rose distress ink on the exposed right side of card front.

3. Stamp text background, followed by inchie square stamps.

4. Remove mask and stamp sentiment.

5. Finish by shading and distressing the edges with more tattered rose distress ink.

Related articles
4 Responses to “One Layer Card No. 13: Thankful”

  1. Beautiful. I, too, love Heather’s style. You have captured the same clean, simple elegance. Brava.

  2. I love your three square layout especially because you put text behind it. I want to make my card again now with text behind the squares. I am off to be inspired by the rest of your creations.

    • Thanks so much for the compliment, Heather! Your blog is one of the first blogs I followed — saw one of your cards featured on the Penny Black page on FB and I became an instant fan. I love your cards…looking at them makes me salivate at all the wonderful colors and techniques you use :)

Trackbacks

